+ 40 724 050 077 (Telegram / WhatsApp / Viber) | office@larinconsult.com EN | RO | RU

General information about Romania

Romania is a country situated in southeastern Central Europe, located in the Lower Danube region and on the northwest coast of the Black Sea. Almost the entire Danube Delta and the central part of the Carpathian Mountains are located on its territory.

Romania borders Bulgaria to the south, Serbia to the southwest, Hungary to the northwest, Ukraine to the north and Moldova to the east. From the southeast, it is bordered by the Black Sea.

The country's population is of 22 million people (10th in Europe and 49th in the world).

The main ethnic groups are Romanians (according to the 2002 census - 89.5%) and Hungarians (6.6%). Also, in Romania, there live over half a million gypsies (Roma). The other ethnic groups are Germans, Ukrainians, Lipovans, Turks, Tatars, Serbs, Slovaks, Bulgarians, Croats, Greeks, Ruthenians, Jews, Czechs, Poles, Italians and Armenians.

Area of ??the country - 238,391 km² (tenth place in Europe). The capital city of Romania is Bucharest, which, at the same time, is its largest city and the sixth most populated city in the EU (1.9 million).

The official language is the Romanian language.

Time zone - Eastern European time (GMT + 2 hours). From the last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in October, the country switches to daylight saving time (GMT + 3 hours) – the “summer time’.

As a form of government, Romania is a semi-presidential republic.

The country's currency is the Romanian Leu (RON).

Romania's climate is temperate continental with four well-defined seasons. Winters are relatively cold, the weather is bleak, with frequent snow. Summer is hot and sunny, often with rain showers and thunderstorms.

Romania has proclaimed its freedom of faith, thought and opinion.

Official holidays: January 1st – 2nd (New Year's Eve and New Years’ Day), Easter Monday, May 1st, December 1st (Independence Day), December 25th and 26th (Christmas).